I believe it

Gullible.+Description_c80677_3171544http://www.funnyjunk.com/funny_pictures/3171988/Gullible/

Credibility and believability seem to be in completely different ballparks. Something can be believable and not credible, especially if you are talking to a particularly gullible person. Believability is something that is within the realm of reason. While credibility is something solid that can be proven and backed up with facts. Just because I choose to believe something, doesn’t necessarily make it credible.

The text states “just as you would not naively believe a stranger who approached you on the street, you should not automatically believe a site that you randomly encounter on the web.” I love that logic, but there are holes in it. Imagine you are waiting in line at Starbucks and the guy behind you mentions that cinnamon is better for you than nutmeg, you might just believe him and order the cinnamon latte instead of the nutmeg blend. However if a stranger ran up out of no where while you were walking to work and began sputtering about how it was going to rain later and maybe you should have considered an umbrella. You wouldn’t assume he was a meteorologist, instead you would check his credibility by using a trusted resource such as wfaa.com. The same goes for websites.

When you open up a new website the first thing I notice is the layout, but very soon after that I start to read. It doesn’t take long to decide if it looks and sounds legit. When I’m looking a fact up quickly I will often find myself in Wikipedia, which is an awful habit. I read what wiki has to say and then knowing that they aren’t entirely credible I just base my answer off of believability and previous knowledge. Many times I have been given incomplete information from which I drew my own conclusions. Credibility feeds off of believability. Once you believe it you can choose to look deeper or take it at face value.

7 thoughts on “I believe it

  1. Very good use of examples! I like how you brought up two different scenarios to show the difference between credibility and believability. Consider elaborating with what was learned in class about how to decide if a site or information is credible (i.e. looking up the author, clicking on published links, checking if it has been updated recently etc.).

  2. Your points on the differences between credibility and believability are valid. When looking at the quote, it is true generally, but as you stated there are some instances that there is an exception. Within reason, however, most of the time that quote holds more truth than not. Being able to determine the credibility of a website is pretty important. Without understanding whether a webpage is truthful or not one can end up quoting, discussing, or using false information, in a public forum in which correct information is valued. I agree that both the layout and what you read on a website combine to tell the surfer whether or not the information is legit. Moreover, it is definitely worth it to use your own previous knowledge to come to conclusions on the credibility of things. You made great points and I definitely agree!

  3. I agree with almost everything said with reading text books, and how people really do not have the choice to go to school without reading. If that was an uption, then I believe most students would chose not to read, and maybe just seat in class and listen to the professor’s lectures. However reading can be considered the biggest part in going to school, as the main goal for a student may be to acquire knowledge. We must embrase reading text books to be succesful in school, as there may not be other uptions most times.
    Williams Besong

  4. I though this post had very good use of examples! I like how you brought up two different scenarios to show the difference between credibility and believability. It is interesting to think about the Starbucks situation, because it seems very familiar. I have often found myself taking other people’s advice or knowledge and believing it was true without researching if the information was in fact correct. I would have liked to hear about how credibility and believability could be misrepresented or confused with one another, if even possible. Consider elaborating with what was learned in class about how to decide if a site or information is credible (i.e. looking up the author, clicking on published links, checking if it has been updated recently etc.). Overall this post was informative and well written. The author really thought about the two words and the meanings behind them. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I like the fact that you used believability and credibility in the same context and gave brief definitions of the two words. But the same goes vice versa. Even though something may be creditable you may not want to believe it so either way its still based on your perspective, morals, and opinions and whether you choose to pursue in researching more about that certain subject or topic.

  6. I like how you describe the interaction of believability and credibility and conclude that either way our final choice to believe something credible is ours to make. I concede completely with your point that there are holes in the statement that the author makes about not believing the statement of a stranger on a street due to the manner in which believability and credibility interact. For often if the stranger were to state something particularly believable we may or may not put forth any effort in fact checking due to what is sensibly expedient. Like with your Starbucks/street weatherman examples it is easier for us to simply take the advice with faith in the Starbucks scenario, and with the man giving a forecast it becomes easiest to simply quickly check rather than run back for an umbrella. Only issue I find is that I feel what you’ve said about our belief interfering with our acceptance as credible perhaps could have been strengthened with some discussion on the effect of confirmation bias. Overall your post was a good commentary on the reading and you used solid examples. 🙂

  7. I will forever be amazed at some of the things people allow themselves to believe and I think your post makes a very valid point. In a day and age where absolutely anything can be posted on the internet by absolutely anyone, it is positively essential to check our facts and do some research. I know as a mother, I am always a teacher to my children. Children are a blank slate and will believe what they are taught. It would be irresponsible of me to talk with my children about an event or idea that I really have no knowledge on or had not done any research on. I think you are correct when you stated it all comes does to common sense. If you open a website you can often “get a feel” if what you are reading is real or unreliable. It’s our responsibility as the readers to take what we can from any given article, be it truth or just a good laugh.

Leave a Reply

