Transition Into Adulthood

After reading this comic, I found it interesting how Mariane made things work for her at home after being held back from doing the things she had done before the Islamic revolution. Towards the beginning of the book, Mariane was a young girl and didn’t understand some of the changes that took place around her. Her parents accepted those changes but Mariane didn’t. She often questioned and defied those changes and chose not to accept them. This foreshadows which qualities will follow Mariane later on in the book. As she grew older, she moved to Venice and gained an enormous amount of freedom. Seeing what the western culture was really like made it hard for her to fit in easily. After getting cheated on by her boyfriend, she questioned her purpose and sought to find it back home. From then on out, her life seems to be relatively better and she transitions from a feeble-minded child to an adult and eventually gets married.
After seeing Mariane’s transition into adulthood after she came back home makes me wonder when the transition into adulthood will settle in. For me, I believe I can fully call myself an adult as soon as I start paying the bills for my apartment/house, car, etc. Being an adult, to me, is when I can live on my own and not have to depend on my parents to support me. There are always some pros and cons of living on your own. Since this is a “discussion” with the class, I want to know what you guys think the meaning of adulthood is. So what do you guys think? Does being an adult mean you move out of your house? Does adulthood mean getting a license? I want to know what adulthood is for you.

6 thoughts on “Transition Into Adulthood

  1. I feel that being an adult is whenever the individual is able to cover all expenses on their own. Expenses like their phone, water and electricity, and insurances, once the individual can understand and accept the outcomes of their decisions that go with being a young adult, then their on the right path to become what I consider an adult. Life’s definitely hard and they don’t teach you about the real issues you come against when on your own. As an adult I think we have to constantly learn while still maintaing some fun we have, certain scenarios will result in how we can live out lives though, such as grades from high school effecting your future job. Kids at an early age will dictate for sure how much fun you think you can have, also the type of worker you are in the place of business is where we can see who really is an adult and who still acts like a kid.
    That transition from getting an allowance and working hard for our money is one that really takes us all by surprise. One day we’re asking our parents for money and a ride, and then next we’re working 40-hr a week looking forward to the first beer of weekend. Once we can separate ourselves from those who use to take care of us, then do I think we are able to be fully considered an adult, but then we get into who is an adult (someone who is just at reproductive age) or a legal adult ( a person held to the laws of being old enough to understand right and wrong). Just like other subjects there is no just plain and simply answer for what is an adult, adult is just word. It’s how we act and carry ourselves in our current day to day scenarios that can tell others whether or not we have matured to being considered and adult.

    • I completely agree with the ideas you present in your well written reply. In my personal opinion, becoming an adult is a gradual process that takes place over an extended amount of time. First, an individual may live on their own, then they start paying their own bills and acquire a full-time job, then they become completely economically independent. As stated in the original article, I believe a person truly becomes an adult when they achieve they are no long economically dependent on their parents or guardians. However, you present an added element to the argument.The notion that Marjane Satrapi lived in total freedom when she lived in Vienna, despite her young age, but in her sentiment was not that of an adult.

  2. I believe that adulthood is not defined by one’s ability to cover the bills. Just a few years ago a lot of people in the United States were not able to cover their bills, a lot of families moved in with each other. And the fact that they could not cover the bills was not entirely their fault. Even the U.S. government is in debt and still tries to figure out how to cover the bills. Adulthood is not defined by the size of one’s wallet.
    Adulthood is understanding that hard work pays off, patience, adaptability are required to get through depression. Adulthood is an ability to stand up for yourself. To be an adult is to realize that sacrifice is real and tons of people sacrifice something every day.
    I also used to think that financial freedom is part of adulthood, and it might be, but it is certainly not a defining aspect of adult life.

  3. Adulthood is different for everybody. To me, I think adulthood was once I moved out of my house. That was just the first step though. I moved out after I graduated high school to attend a University about 5 hours away. My parents still help me out with expenses but, I still live on my own. I have to wash my clothes, clean my apartment, and make my own food (which I am not good at whatsoever). This became adulthood for me because I never did any of these things on my own. My mom or dad would always remind to do some chores or help out around the house. It was a hard transition because sometimes I wouldn’t do laundry until I ran out of clothes or I would forget to eat because I was so busy doing other things (because of all my freedom). Although I do live on my own and am still learning how to do things on my own, there is so much more to reaching adulthood that I think has to do without the help of parents or even after schooling.

  4. It’s true that when we were younger we wanted to grow up and be adults so badly, but now that we are approaching adulthood, we wish to be young forever. Adulthood is a reality that we must all face one day. The thought of being on your own, paying bills, and getting a job scares us all. Everyone’s perception of adulthood is different. To others it might be moving out, or graduating high school, but to me the transition of adulthood occurs when you no longer need the support of your parents, but you begin supporting your parents themselves. Being an adult also means that you can make critical thinking decisions on your own. The transition to adulthood is never. It’s a whole new chapter in our lives and that alone can be frightening to some people, but it’s a step we must take ourselves and the future generations.

  5. Great job on this post! I really like how you chose to leave a question to us responders at the end of your text while still staying on the topic of the book by identifying a central theme. In my personal opinion, it is extremely difficult to define adulthood as a specific moment in time. Yes, there are crucial steps to achieving adulthood however I believe that things such as getting your driver’s license and moving out are simply a means to an end. Those things are crucial for an individual’s development however to become an adult it is my belief that something changes within an individual that defines them as a person. It’s almost as if all of one’s life decisions and experiences gradually come together to change something within a person that is reflected by the way they perceive the world around them.

Leave a Reply

