Comics Defined

http://http://fivefeetofheaveninaponytail.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/film11.jpgfilm11

When we think of the word comic what usually comes to mind is images of superheroes with super powers swooping in a saving the day frame by frame along with some very and not so very witty dialogue. We also think of only certain groups of people reading them. However, this comic was very different. It didn’t contain any of the mentioned above. What it did contain redefined the word “comic”.
This comic was very interesting to say the least. It’s a comic talking about what comics are. I personally think that defining it in such a manner was a stroke of genius. It starts out like an essay only the opposite way. It starts with a very narrow definition of what he thought a comic was. As it gets further into the story the definition gets a little more broad and narrowed back down. It goes over everything that a comic can be defined as from “sequential art” to “juxtaposed pictorial and other images in deliberate sequence” and everything in between. Towards the end of the reading it came down to “juxtaposed pictorial and other images in deliberate sequence intended to convey information and/or produce an aesthetic response from the viewer”.
After reading everything in the pages assigned I feel that this has completely change my view on comics. Superheroes with super powers are the the first thing that come to mind when I think of the word”comic”. I now think of images and dialogue working together in a moving sequence to tell a story. In a way it’s kind of like a movie. Overall I found this read to be very interesting and very enlightening.

2 thoughts on “Comics Defined

  1. Reading your post made me remember something I did when I was younger that I forgot. I made storyboards. Thinking back on it makes me feel a little silly. However, now that I think about it, any art from mind to form seems to simply be an outlet. These storyboards were an outlet for me. Although, I did not use them as an outlet for any reason other than something which into, I could funnel my overactive, childhood imagination. Marjane uses her storyboards as an outlet to bring closure and deal with the absolutely crazy childhood she had, if any at all. I was not very interested in this story at first, but I realize that Marjane never made these stories with the intention of making a book to get rich. She created these to help her grow and move on spiritually. I think everyone needs an outlet, whether physical, mental, or spiritual.

  2. I love the conclusion you came to at the end of your post: “I now think of images and dialogue working together in a moving sequence to tell a story.” I’m not sure when I realized that comics were more than Calvin & Hobbes or Superman. It took me a while to get used to reading books like Maus and Persepolis, but I am now always looking for graphic narratives like these two. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

