Coming of Age

persepolis

http://farm2.staticflickr.com/1238/634273641_07c84fee5f.jpg

So far, I’m truly enjoying this comic. I find it extremely interesting to see how Marjane’s perspective of the world around her changes as she grows older. As she experiences and understands more and more of the Islamic revolution and she grows older her mindset changes several times.

In the very beginning of the story describes her perception of the veil that became obligatory to wear in 1980 for women. She explains that they “didn’t really like to wear the veil, especially since [they] didn’t understand why [they] had to.” Under this line the comic displays a picture of a bunch of young girls comically playing with their veils displaying a childish mindset and an overall sense of ignorance.

 As things in her life begin to change Marjane begins to show an interest as to why yet still presenting that childish nature. Marjane tells her parents “I want to come tomorrow! …To demonstrate on the street!” Her parents quickly explain to her that its extremely dangerous and turn her down done immediately yet throughout her argument for her right to demonstrate Marjane maintains a sense of childish wisdom, saying things like “For a revolution to succeed, the entire population must support it.” All the while, the comic’s pictures are displaying her as a stubborn child attempting to sound authoritative. I find it really interesting though that at such a young age she finds an interest in the revolution and want to be a part of it. I know I wasn’t interested in political matters at such a young age.

 However, after a while Marjane’s mind set begins to change even more. In “The Key,” the very first picture in the comic shows Marjane reading as newspaper regarding all the Martyrs who have died for their cause. Throughout this section of the book at the age of fourteen it seems to me that Marjane is less interested in spouting an opinion and is simply soaking in information regarding the subject and going on about her teenage business.

 I feel Marjane’s mind set will continue to change throughout the book as she gets older, learns more about the world around her, and begins to form a political opinion of her own.

6 thoughts on “Coming of Age

  1. You create a nice stance by describing how Marjane’s mind set changes, throughout the graphic novel, as she grows up. I agree with that statement, especially when you state that Marjane plays with her veil. I believe you should have elaborated more on the veil example, since it does not connect with the others. For example, you should have wrote what Marjane thought of the veil as she got older, in order to show the change in her mind set. The newspaper example shows that Marjane is mature and shows a change, which strengthens your stance. I understand that you were trying to explain that Marjane is mature when she wants to go to the demonstration in your next example. I do see a flaw in that example though, because Marjane is always expressing what is on her mind and is always showing it, even when she is growing up. Overall, you have a great idea and a few great examples, but try to connect your examples, in order to make your stance flow better.

  2. I liked this post because this is the aspect about the comic I like the most. The subtle lines she says that both show how mature she is for her age along with other lines that show she is still a child. I think you emphasized this in the post with both examples. Whether it was her still being a child joking about the veil with her classmates or her reading about the martyrs she still stays the same character throughout, however as the book goes along you can see her mature. I think the quote you use emphasizes her maturity and your comment about how disinterested in politics at her age you were gives a good comparison. Overall I think it’s a good post that gives good examples on both her maturity level and on her still childish characteristics.

  3. I really like this post and the detail that you have included. You outline the part about the veil so well. You bring very good points about her transition into adulthood and your examples are spot on. As I was reading the book, I started picking up on these subtle cues as well. Like you said, she acts very childish in the beginning and also defiant. This really foreshadowed her behavior later on in the book and I should have seen it coming. I was mildly surprised at the fact that she became a rebel. With all the signs, I cannot believe I did not see it happening. Anyways, very good comparison at the end about Meriane’s maturity and how uninterested she in the issues going on in Tehran.

  4. You bring up very interesting points to consider during the reading of Persepolis. The political climate Marjane is a member of is in total turmoil, dictating a majority of her life. Marjane parents are also political activists themselves and provide various information, via books and spoken word, about different notions of politics. However, what I found fascinating about Marjane, is that she reads numerous books about Marxism and Communism at a very young age. As she grows older, her perspective on the world around her changes, as you said in your article. I guess people’s outlook on life is never stagnant, but rather continuously changing as certain we become used to the situations we find ourselves in.

  5. I really like this post and on you put details in it from the book. I agree with you on how this comic book is really good. This is my first real comic book to read and I never thought I would be so hooked into the details and images that Marjane uses. I like how you use the different transitions of how Marjane goes from being of the book of acting childish and as you go deeper into the book she grows into adulthood. I also like how you put in your own example of how when you were younger you really weren’t interested in the political matters around the world. I feel the same way! I know when I was younger I was never interested in political matters of the world but now as I grown up I like to read about the political issues going on in the world. Well, anyways great post and putting in examples.

  6. I also am enjoying the book, and the flow of the overall comic book path the author took. It’s entertaining to also see while reading the many transitions that take place in Marjane’s life as she is experienced to these scenarios not really meant for a young girl. Experiences as the mass people demonstrations, the riots involving the shootings and violence weren’t meant for a little One part in the book, when Marjane is a young girl, she begins to realize that invisible barrier called social classes. She sees how the classes work from a restriction of love between her parents’ house maid and a neighbor boy who didn’t know she was in separate family class. Learning about Marjane as I dive deeper into this novel will be exciting and educational also from reading about certain facts and history about the state and country she lived in throughout her childhood.

Leave a Reply

