A great photograph is one that fully expresses what one feels, in the deepest sense, about what is being photographed.” ― Ansel Adams

Boston Marathon Explosion

In Chute and Dekoven, the use of photography and images have greatly increased in publications. Images are replacing the emotional and mental gaps that words sometimes can not fill. Hearing about an explosion in Boston during  marathon couldn’t sound any worse, but show that explosion in photos it becomes even more real and tragic. Word’s sometimes can not justify for the way we feel or the emotional connections between certain words.

I mean honestly, just think about it, even in newspapers the first things we look at? The front page/story where there actually is an image to tie in with the news story. Then, we keep flipping until we find more images, oh and then of course the comics. Images do catch our eye even in black and white. It’s not only the detail that catches our eye, it’s the connection we make with that image. An image of a group of 10-year old boys winning a baseball championship can bring a smile to our face. While, seeing the toll a tornado has taken on a city, can create a deep sorrow that grows in our hearts.

The structure of cross-discursive writing gives the ability to deepen our imagination in the reading. Although, they are not aways closely in sync, we can go based on images to tie in those words. Comics don’t always have an exact tie with the words and actions being said, but with the use of those images we are able to create the whole story in our mind.  Images allow our imagination to grow in our reading, and gives us the ability to create a whole new picture.

New’s media can tell us a story of what has happened, but without the use of imagery it would not be significant. Thousands of words enter our minds without an image in our heads we wouldn’t have that phrase stick in our mind. It’s just like remembering names, you have to picture the face to remember the name. Political Cartoons also help give us an idea on who our presidents are like and what their policies consist of.

The use of graphics to reproduce words is a great technique and strategy to get readers involved. It takes awhile to absorb the image, and after that it’s time to read the words to help develop the story behind the picture.

12 thoughts on “A great photograph is one that fully expresses what one feels, in the deepest sense, about what is being photographed.” ― Ansel Adams

  1. I agree with you when you talked about how a picture would have a deeper meaning than just reading a story. The example you gave about the Boston marathon was a perfect example of this. I was at work when I heard about the bombings, and though I was sad about the news, it made it worse once I saw the images and videos on the news. Can you imagine watching the news at night and not be able to see the videos or pictures that go along with the stories? I know for sure I probably wouldn’t watch the news!I also thought you did a great job in discussing cross-discursive writing. Overall I think you did a great job.

    • Thanks! And agreed, a new stories without any videos or pictures, that will drive me crazy. I know theres those new topics that are just loaded up with words that appear on the screen (usually a recorded conversation with subtitles), and those actually have me looking away or just being distracted.

  2. I really like the point you made with the tie between image and word. It is completely true in my own case that when I pick up a newspaper the first thing I look at are the pictures before reading the words that accompany them. It is true that images can hit harder than words and that seeing a picture of a devastating scene can mean a lot more than describing it. On the other hand a picture of people who are happy and joyful can also have an uplifting effect in making the reader feel more light heartened. The use of pictures is very important.The power of cross-discursive techniques is one that should not be ignored and it is something that can be used to the authors advantage to write a more or less moving piece. Good job on your evaluation of Chute’s and Dekoven’s piece. A picture really is worth a thousand words.

  3. Overall fantastic blog post! I completely agree with on how images bring on a deeper feeling from stories that we hear on the television or that we read. I love the examples you gave to show how seeing those images made everyone feel much deeper towards that tragedy. For example, when you talked about the bombing in Boston. When i first heard about what had happened i felt sadden that it had happened in the first place. Although, I felt much more for all of those people that were involved in the bombing. Those pictures allowed me to see how devastating it actually was. Another life experience that I remember feeling different from when I heard about a story and then once I actually saw it on TV it changed my emotions all together. I would assume that everyone felt the same way about this event. That event would be 9/11. I think that if we never got to see the planes flying into the World Trade Center’s no one would have felt the way they do now. I agree with your statement on cartoons and pictures in newspapers as well. Whenever I use to look in newspapers I would always look for articles with pictures and then I would go straight to the comic section and read it whether or not it really made sense in the first place. Fantastic job!

  4. You had great insight in this post! I especially appreciate your analogy regarding picturing the face in order to remember the name. Images attach emotion to an issue in ways that words often cannot. However, images can also act in the way that text does my misrepresenting an issue – especially when dealing with cartoons.

    You explained that political cartoons “give us an idea on [what] our presidents are like and what their policies consist of.” Unfortunately, these political cartoons usually come from a particular bias and can easily portray an unfair, inaccurate message. This ultimately is propaganda – a very inspiring, yet damaging, form of art.

    Common examples of propaganda include Hitler’s and the Nazi’s anti-Semitic propaganda in the 1930s and 1940s. Most people will agree with me when I say that the Nazi party brainwashed an era into believing that the Aryan race was the superior race, while “lesser” people, such as Jews, homosexuals, and gypsies, should be exterminated. The Holocaust was an incredibly complex issue with factors ranging from lack of transparency to fear to propaganda. In this case, though, images were used to express inaccurate statements and essentially killed millions of innocent people.

  5. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your
    post seem to be running off the screen in Ie. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let
    you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the issue
    solved soon. Many thanks

  6. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  7. Hiya very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..
    I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally?
    I’m satisfied to search out numerous useful information right here within the post, we want develop more
    strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

Leave a Reply

