Social Media Privacy

For today’s blog we read “A Flashy Facebook Page, at a Cost to Privacy” by Kim Hart, and “Do Employers Using Facebook for Background Checks face Legal Risks?” by Carolyn Elefant. Both articles presented the potential dark side of using social media.

Kim and Carolyn give you a sense of just how insecure you information really is. Not only can employers see the profile pictures of even a locked down profile, but every time you allow a game or other app access to ur page it pulls all your information to a third party server.

It’s not like having everyone snooping around in somebody else’s business is anything new, we do it every day to celebrities. They can’t go out of their house to buy groceries without someone taking a picture of them and posting it in some magazine, but they learn to live with it. I think the same needs to go for us. By signing up for social media we are putting ourselves out there for everyone to look at and critique. I don’t think most people realise how much of their information can be viewed, saved, and misused by people they aren’t even friends with. Nobody I know spends time actually reading the EULA’s before they click “Agree” and sign up, so I question whether or not any of it is the fault of these services.

But let’s look at the flip side, with servers having access to my personal information I can now see ads for only stuff that I may be interested in, and being a guy I don’t really care to see an ad for dresses, I’d rather see a dirt bike. Also, if I keep all my profiles private and my pictures professional, it may actually help me get a job as now I stand out from everyone else should a potential employer peruse my page. There is obviously more than one side to every discussion, but at the heart of the issue is properly educating the masses.

4 thoughts on “Social Media Privacy

  1. I really enjoyed reading your blog. It is very interesting the fact that you discussed the flip side of the argument. I never really thought about it that way until I read your post. I believe you are right when you talk about that if we keep our Facebook pages private and professional at all times; We wont have to worry about if our future employers check our pages.

    I guess the only concern I have would be if my personal information gets used in identity theft somehow. I know that identity theft is a huge issue for our country. As it stated in the article you discussed, there is know way of knowing who has our personal information and what they are using it for once it gets in the hands of third parties. Overall I thought your post was really good.

  2. I give you a lot of credit for writing this. The points that were mentioned are kind of the unnoticed silver lining in situations like these that no one ever really seems to think about, much less appreciate. I was on the opposite side of the fence but everything you said logically makes sense. Since social media really is a choice and not actually forced upon anyone, one can’t really complain about privacy when they are posting stuff on the public internet. And I agree with your statement about “by signing up for social media we are putting ourselves out there for everyone to look at and critique”. So, we cannot get upset or feel violated when someone has checked out one’s social account because by putting it on the internet, the person has made it virtually accessible to anyone with internet access. And being a male as well, I agree that I’d rather have ads that are tailored to my preferences or what I’ve been searching. There have been multiple times where I was on a social network page and clicked the back button because I thought I saw an ad that was pertaining to me. There are always pros and cons in situations like these. I guess it just comes down to how you view it.

    • bekabek25, Jacobluna17, and arsalanz, thanks for your comments, I’m glad my last paragraph struck a chord y’all could agree with. Having been on the other side of issues like these I guess I have learned to not rush to put the blame on big companies. I have found in life that usually if anyone is at fault it is me, and my mistake… anyways, keep on blogging.
      -Steven A.

Leave a Reply

