Loss of Original

resized_image2_25f2d7144c73c3ae29a77eb29827e67a


In the advance age that we are in, people struggle to keep the originality of their works. Many of the resources are now commonly available in the World Wide Web and can be accessed without much effort. Many of the information available took ages to gather and the founders in return get little credit. Scholars were looked highly upon for their knowledge and even when my grandfather was in his youth, people with education and knowledge were regarded highly in the society. Today, I feel that because our generation is capable of effortlessly find information, we lose the respect we have for the ones who provided those information for us.
Personally I would like to tackle on the impact emails and texting had over hand-written letters. When I was in Korea, letters were common form of communication. When I returned from school, I will see my mother’s letter on the dining table that delivered the location of food. That was my secondary happiness after playing soccer with my friends. A letter was written for my parents on parent’s day, another one for the teacher on teacher appreciation day, and another on for my friends on their birthday. Letters composed of personal messages that were carefully thought out and delivered in paper. The type of paper will closely be chosen and the utensil will also be closely configured. However, when the age of cell phones came through and every child held in their possession an electronic device, letters quickly diminished. An event of birth was simply celebrated my happy b-day through text or by a post on Facebook. This form of text is so common the original authorship is lost and simply seen a copy. That’s one of the point that Kress made in his academic journal.
The originality of the author has been lost for everyone can now access the World Wide Web and simply make that idea theirs. Even when they are paraphrasing, the credit does not go to the original author. Because many private ideas and achievement have been posted on the Web, it’s up for anyone to grab and use it in their own conversation; then the originality have already been lost through one step.

2 thoughts on “Loss of Original

  1. I LOVE the picture of the gameboy…that is a classic. Your blog was very touching, I agree completely that our advancement of technology and communication has really hurt our society, and made everything much less personal like you mentioned. Although I agree with you completely it also makes me sad to think that these previous, more personal forms of communication are growing more and more extinct. It saddens me to think of letters, and notes being a thing of the past as we grow older. It is crazy to think how everything changes right before your eyes without even knowing it. I know that I will try to carry on these old traditions. I also know that I will always have a love for the original gameboy.

  2. First off let me say the picture is a great way to express how technology has grown in the past generations. I do agree with your blog completely. I feel that technology has taken over the world and people would not know what to do with their self if they did not have it. When I was little I was taught to read and write in letter formatting. Now you can walk down the street and you have 5-8 year old children on smart phones and knowing how to turn them on and work them. When I was that young i was happy when I was able to get a new coloring book.
    Looking at technology these days it has grown from a hand held no colored game boy to a PSP that can be a touch screen and you are able to get on the Internet and play with other people around the world. When growing up all the technology is a good and bad thing. A good thing about the new technology is we have ways to access a lot of things in the world very fast. a bad thing is children are becoming lazier and lazier. Its sad to believe that letters now are things that are laughed about and looked over. In the old times that is the only way the were able to communicate. personally I would choose the older games and older ways to get around but in the days of today you are not able to live with it.

Leave a Reply

