Lets use Pictures and Texts

In a general learning environment, I think students can get a much better understanding of content with printed words along with visuals such as pictures, graphs or comics. In my personal experience with reading any kind of a text book I found that with reading the written material alone, I did not have a full understanding of what was trying to be said. But when I went back and read the book or chapter or section again and looked at the pictures that went along with the text as I read, I had I much better and general understanding of the material. The same thing goes for math as well. With just one look at a written equation I find myself completely lost, but if the equation is on a graph I can tell you anything you would want to know.  However, I do not think printed text in general should go away completely. I just feel like visuals are a good accent to written text and allow more students a better understanding of what’s being read. A good example is like an anatomy book, if a text book writer had to describe in words how each bone in the body looked like and where it is located would take up pages upon pages. A simple solution would be to just have a picture of the skeletal system with labels of each bone. This would be using images along with text and would branch out to several different learning types. I feel like images are getting more common in day to day life opposed to words. Now with all kinds of different smiley faces, plants, automobiles, location and just random items or actions, you can describe your whole day with few or no words at all through a text message to someone. I think it much easier to use pictures anyways because if anyone has dyslexia, like me, pictures don’t move around like words on pages do. J So overall, I think that teachers, instructors and professors should use more images to allow their student to reference to and they might just see an increase in the class average.

5 thoughts on “Lets use Pictures and Texts

  1. I completely agree with everything you wrote on your blog! I definitely agree with you that us as students get a better understanding when there are pictures that support the writing. There have been many occasions in which I have read many pages with a bunch of words and sentences and I did not understand anything. However, when there is just a single picture that gives an overall idea of what the writing is about I can have a better understanding. I also agree with you that text should not completely disappear. Writing is a fundamental medium of communicating. Though pictures can help if they are shown next to writing, pictures by themselves cannot do it all. Pictures are starting to have more power over writing because of their powerful meanings; however, they cannot describe everything that writing can. Based on the article from Chute, there is a new thing called “cross-discursive” which means that images and writing are next to each other. I believe that cross- discursive can be very beneficial to students and to everyone who needs a visual image to understand a text.

  2. Just as you have mentioned, picture is a great item to be utilized when it comes to education. A child cannot read an academic journal for more than a minute. As soon as a child is exposed to vast amount of words, the child will immediately flip pages to look for pictures. I have also looked for pictures first before reading the book itself for it gave me a visual representation that will help me when I read about the characters. Not only do the images help you imagine a scene from a book, a story line can also be drawn. However, a novel with strictly images isn’t perfect either. Taking a comic book for instance, there are lots of pictures but without the word bubbles to describe the dialect between the characters; the scene will be left to the reader’s interpretation. I’m not sure about others but looking at every picture and to interpret every image in the book, I probably rather read words. In my opinion both items are not perfect in its purity. Depending on the material that’s being covered as well as the age of the audience, a mixture will be suitable in most cases. Just as you have mentioned, an equation or sets of data on a table may seem very difficult to draw out in your head and see the progression. But if you were to have a graphical representation of the data, those data will easily be drawn and you will be able to notice a pattern lot quicker and less stressful. As far as the grading part goes, I’m not sure having an image necessarily effect kid positively. There are some kids that I have encountered that simply cannot learn with images and words are more comfortable for they have more interpretation in their own way. So a large class composed of thirty or so kids, one method isn’t always a good choice.

  3. I completely agree with you about needing pictures to understand the text. I am a very auditory learner and if any noise is going on around me, I cannot focus on the words on the page. However, I am still very able to tell what is going on in a picture. I also think it is partly a physocological thing for me. If I open a large book and there are no pictures anywhere, I immediately have less interest in the book. Pictures help me grasp what is going on in the text. As you get older, the books seem to have less and less pictures. I think that now people have started to feel that books with pictures in them are for little kids. This should not be the case though. There can still be fanstatic writing with pictures along side. They can help reinforce the ideas in the text.
    I also really liked that you mentioed dyslexia in your post. Although I do not have dyslexia, I come from a family with many dylexics included my dad and brother. My brother has such a hard time reading that sometimes he will focus more on how to pronounce the words than what is actually going on in the story. Pictures are very helpful for those who have a harder time reading and I like how you brought that perspective to the table.

  4. I agree that pictures really do help reinforce learning. Also, I have found that drawing pictures helps me concentrate and is a good way to study. Images are easier to recall and stick better in my memory than written phrases. That being said, words are necessary in order to get certain information across that cannot be found in the use of images alone. I agree that printed text should not go away completely. I would also add that I don’t think written text should be changed in the academic realm. Most subjects that require the use of texts would only be made more complicated if they were replaced with images. For example, a summary using text in a history textbook is much more efficient than an image by image illustration. Nevertheless, the use of more images along with the text that is already presented would be beneficial. In some cases, images are able to communicate concepts more clearly, and they should be treated with respect. Too much of any one good thing can turn into a bad thing. Having too many words can be just as disruptive as too many images. The best works are those who have a perfect balance of both pictures and words.

  5. Amen!!!! Professors need to read this blog post and take this into consideration. I agree that text should never completely go away and to be honest I don’t think it ever will because you can still gather things from text that you can’t from pictures. You made a great statement and comparison with the analogy of the anatomy book. Because if that only had pictures alone we would all be so lost. But I will have to go out on the limb and say it is not impossible to just read text but it is rather difficult. Which is why some college students lose interest in many of their courses that are just text all the time. Some times pictures brighten up the text and give further understanding then text could. Although text does force one to use and expand their imagination, it’s just too much of a risk to gather the wrong idea and understanding. Especially in a college course.

Leave a Reply

