Arguing Modified

“Perhaps the best way to begin is by explaining what argument is not. An argument is not a quarrel.” When first reading over this subject matter, the first thought to enter my mind was a shouting match, today’s style of arguing. When I think of an argument I envision two people shouting at each other, belittling one another, and thinking of their next response instead of listening to what the other is saying. Arguing is often portrayed in movies, television, and even books. Arguing is a natural part of every day life. Even when I talk with my friends, I tend to “argue” with them over sports, schooling, family, friends, whatever it may be. However I think it is wrong that academic arguing has turned into unproductive shouting. I believe that is what arguing has come to in our society today. Think back a couple of months ago and we will have an excellent example of the lack of academic arguing. We had a large event take place only a few months ago, the presidential debate. The main theme of the debate seemed to be how the presidential candidates seemed to only criticize, belittle, and insult one another. Instead  of learning about the candidates viewpoints and standing on certain aspects, I saw two candidates do nothing but belittle the each other. Another example of what academic arguments have come to can simply be found in your next class. You may know what I am talking about, those classes where a simple discussion seems to turn into a heated argument, which in turn ends up one person making fun of another in front of everyone, solely because their opinions differ. I have seen this happen in many classes while attending college. The worst part however, is that I tend to stay quiet during these arguments, and choose to stay out of these debates. I think if people would use a little more logos or ethos, and a little less pathos, a lot more respect would not only be given but also received. I think many people would greatly benefit from taking a different approach to arguing. If people learned to listen, think, and use Aristotle’s method of persuasion in an argument I know a lot more would get accomplished in every aspect of life.

Image

http://www.buzzlol.com/the-adult-way-to-settle-an-argument.html

Leave a Reply

